Promise and Place

I don’t make promises.

I’ve watched too many films where promises were broken and so were hearts.

But, Nancy Kline discusses one particular promise in her latest book that I am devouring:

I love her books because they are both educational and enjoyable, unlike some arduous research articles I have encountered that were the equivalent of eating dry crackers in a salivaless mouth. However, Nancy’s humilty, humour and humanness shines through her accessible and engaging writing.

One of the components for a quality thinking environment is place and something Nancy said about this resonated with me.

Nancy asserts place shows people they matter and often refers to a physical location that impacts thinking.

For example, coaching in a comfortable environment with plants and natural daylight is more conducive to quality thinking than a dank windowless basement with a meagre, flickering lightbulb that informs the thinker they clearly don’t matter.

However, what is revealed in this latest book is that place also refers to the body we each inhabit.

The place that is our body also demonstrates whether we matter.

However, we are not explicitly taught to appreciate the amazing flesh cage that is our body. So, we often take it for granted until something goes wrong and reminds us of its limits.

TAKE CARE OF YOUR BODY,

IT’S THE ONLY PLACE YOU HAVE TO LIVE.


~ Jim Rohn

So, if the place that is the body also affects the quality of our thinking, we have a responsibility to ensure the body knows that it matters, too.

HOW DO YOU SHOW YOUR BODY IT MATTERS?

When something really matters to you, you generally take greater care of it rather than neglect it.

Right?!

Usually, I take care of my body (and mind) by starting my day with sophrology exercises, yogic breathing, affirmations and, for want of a better word, prayer. But one morning recently I decided that rather than commanding my body to get up and do what it does every morning, I would enquire:

HOW CAN I BEST HONOUR MY BODY TODAY?

While I hoped my body would respond with, “Let’s just do strength training like we do every morning!”, so I wouldn’t have to think of alternatives, the response surprised me:

“You’ve been pushing me a lot recently. Please let me rest a little. Acknowledge those aches you’ve been ignoring. Address their root cause. Let me move in a more fluid and joyous way, instead of making me lift weights. I just want to sing and dance and celebrate more.

Photo by Pineapple Supply Co. on Pexels.com

Since that conversation, when I listened to my body without interruption, it is easier to get out of bed in the mornings, despite the darkness, to do what brings my body joy:

I begin each brand new day drinking two cups of hot water. I warm up with 15 minutes of Laughter Yoga, then practise Hatha or Vinyasa Yoga, followed by African Dance or Zumba that is so much fun for my body, which craves movement.

I was born to move.

Photo by Ketut Subiyanto on Pexels.com

I listen to upbeat tunes while I shower and feel energised before I have even eaten breakfast, which consists of steamed apples and cinnamon now that Winter fast approaches.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Then I sit outside, bundled up to stay snugly, watching falling leaves and busy squirrels, while I’m slurping green tea made with the steamed apple water, turmeric, black pepper, cardamom and ginger.

My body feels nourished and appreciated and I don’t even crave coffee.

Because I have had heaps of fun, I am able to sit down and peacefully engage with my day’s work.

So that is one promise I am willing to make; to keep listening to my body.

I promise to listen and pay attention.

I promise.

HOW CAN YOU DEMONSTRATE

YOUR BODY MATTERS

TODAY?

Onwards and LOLwards xXx

Leave a comment